top of page
  • Writer's pictureJamal Saafir

Burna Boy Continues To Heat Things Up

Burna Boy is still making waves in the music world and is getting much-deserved recognition. At the upcoming 2023 Headies Awards, a ceremony honoring Afrobeat and Pan-African artists, Burna Boy will be the leading nominee of the event.

According to a report from TheGrio, Burna Boy earned 10 nominations at the Headies, including best Afrobeats album for “Love, Damini,” Best Male Artiste, and African Artiste of the Year, according to Billboard. His song “Alone” earned him two nominations, for Best Recording of the Year, and for Songwriter of the Year.

He is nominated twice in the Song of the Year has been category, for his own “Last, Last,” and as a guest on Asake’s “Sungba Remix.”

Asake holds second-most nominations with eight. He’s also set to contend with Burna Boy for album of the year, for “Mr. Money With the Vibe,” and best male artiste. His track with Burna Boy, “Sungba Remix,” also received a nod for best collaboration.

Rema, Omah Lay, Victony, Simi, Kizz Daniel and Pheelz all received five nominations each. Drake and Future are both nominated for International Artiste of the Year. Sean Love Combs will receive the International Artiste Recognition Award.

Fans can vote for the winners at The 16th annual Headies Awards is set for September 3rd at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, Georgia. It is scheduled to stream live on YouTube and Africa’s HipTV network.

The 2023 Headies Awards full nominations list:

International Artist of the Year - Drake, Future, Selena Gomez, Don Toliver, Ed Sheeran

Album of the Year - “Love, Damini” by Burna Boy, “Mr. Money With the Vibe” by Asake, “Rave And Roses” by Rema, “Boy Alone” by Omah Lay, “Outlaw” by Victony, “Timeless” by Davido

Best Female Artiste - Tems, Simi, Ayra Starr, Tiwa Savage

Best Male Artiste - Asake, Rema, Kizz Daniel, Ruger, Omah Lay, Burna Boy

Rookie of the Year - Bayanni, Khaid, Guchi, Bloody Civilian, Odumodublvck, Eltee Skhillz

Best Recording of the Year - “Alone” by Burna Boy, “Soweto” by Victony & Tempoe, “I’m A Mess” by Omah Lay, “Ku Lo Sa” by Oxlade, “Stand Strong” by Davido Ft. Sunday Service Choir, “No Woman, No Cry” by Tems

Producer of the Year - Magicsticks - “Sungba Remix” (Asake), P.Prime, Tmxo & Pheelz – “Electricity” (Pheelz Ft Davido), Andre Vibez & London – “Calm Down” (Rema), Tempoe – “Soweto” (Victony & Tempoe), Kel-P – “Kpe Paso” (Wande Coal & Olamide), Rexxie – “Abracadabra” (Rexxie, Naira Marley, Skiibii & Wizkid)

Songwriter of the Year - Simi Kosoko, Godsfavour Chidozie, Kosoko Adekunle, Marcel Akunwata – “Loyal” (Simi), Stanley Didia, Adebajo Adebanjo – “I’m A Mess” (Omah Lay), Tems, Ludwig Goransson, Robyn Rihanna Fenty, Ryan Coogler – “Lift Me Up” (Rihanna), Damini Ebunoluwa Ogulu, Austin Jnr Iornongu Iwar, Peace Oredope, Ludwig Goransson – “Alone” (Burna Boy), Daniel Benson – “In My Mind” (Bnxn), Fuayefika Maxwell – Earth Song (Wizard Chan)

Best R&B Single - “For My Hand” by Burna Boy Ft. Ed Sheeran, “Mmadu” by Ckay, “Just 4 U” by Dami Oniru, “Red Wine” by Preye, “Hard To Find” by Chike Ft. Flavour, “Loyal” by Simi Ft. Fave

Best Rap Single - “Hustle” by Reminisce, “Big Energy” by Ladipoe, “Back In Uni” by Blaqbonez, “Bando Diaries” by Psychoyp, “Declan Rice” by Odumodublvck, “My Bro” by Jeriq Ft. Phyno

Best Alternative Song - “Earth Song” by Wizard Chan, “Final Champion” by Cruel Santino, “The Traveller” by Basketmouth Ft The Cavemen, “In A Loop” by Boj Ft Moliy & Mellissa, “Game Changer” (Dike) by Flavour, “Tinko Tinko” by Obongjayar

Best Vocal Performance (Female) - Niniola – “Memories”, Simi – “Loyal”, Waje – “In Between“, Liya – “Adua Remix”, Preye – “Red Wine”, Dami Oniru – “Just 4 U”

Best Vocal Performance (Male) - Oxlade – “Ku Lo Sa”, Ric Hassani – “My Only Baby”, Magixx – “Love Don’t Cost A Dime”, Chike – “Spell Remix”, Praiz – “Reckless”, Wande Coal – “Kpe Paso”

Best Music Video - Blaqbonez & Perliks – “Back In Uni” (Blaqbonez), Tg Omori – “Pbuy” (Asake), Director Pink – “Spell Remix” (Chike & Oxlade), Tg Omori – “Bandana” (Fireboy & Asake), Director K – “Common Person” (Burna Boy), Director K – “Calm Down” (Rema)

Best Collaboration - Asake Ft. Burna Boy – “Sungba Remix”, Bnxn Ft. Kizz Daniel & Seyi Vibez – “Gwagwalada”, Pheelz Ft. Bnxn – “Finesse”, Spyro Ft. Tiwa Savage – “Who’s Your Guy Remix”, Pheelz Ft. Davido – “Electricity”, Wande Coal Ft. Olamide – “Kpe Paso”

Best Street-Hop Artiste - Rexxie Ft. Naira Marley & Skiibii – “Abracadabra”, Seyi Vibez – “Chance (Na Ham)”, Asake – “Joha”, Zlatan Ft. Young Jonn – “Astalavista”, Poco Lee & Hotkid – “Otilo”, Mohbad – “Peace”

Afrobeats Single of the Year - “Last Last” by Burna Boy, “Rush” by Ayra Starr, “Buga'' by Kizz Daniel & Tekno, “Finesse” by Pheelz Ft Bnxn, “Who’s Your Guy?” by Spyro, “Asiwaju” by Ruger

Headies’ Viewers’ Choice - Ruger – “Asiwaju”, Victony & Tempoe – “Soweto”, Fireboy Dml & Asake – “Bandana”, Ayra Star – “Rush”, Asake – “Terminator”, Mavins – “Overloading (Overdose)”, Crayon – “Ijo (Laba Laba)”, Oxlade – “Ku Lo Sa”, Kizz Daniel & Tekno – “Buga”, Pheelz & Davido – “Electricity”

Best West African Artiste of the Year - ­Gyakie (Ghana), Black Sherif (Ghana), The Therapist (Liberia), Camidoh (Ghana)

Best East African Artiste of the Year - Zuchu, Diamond Platinumz, Rayvanny, Eddy Kenzo, Hewan Gebrewold

Best North African Artiste of the Year - Marwa Loud – Morocco, Wegz – Egypt, El Grande Toto – Morocco, Soolking – Algeria

Best Southern African Artiste of the Year - Aka (South Africa), Nasty C – South Africa, Costa Titch – South Africa, Uncle Waffles – South Africa, Focalistic – South Africa, Dj Tarico – Mozambique

Best Central African Artiste of the Year - Fally Ipupa – Democratic Republic of Congo, Gaz Mawete – Democratic Republic of Congo, Matias Damasio – Angola, Emma’a – Gabon, Libianca – Cameroon

Best R&B Album - “Home” by Johnny Drille, “The Brother’s Keeper” by Chike, “Reckless” by Praiz, “Waje 2.0” by Waje, “Matter of Time” by Dami Oniru, “To Be Honest (Tbh)” by Simi

Best Alternative Album - “Horoscopes” by Basketmouth, “Gbagada Express” by Boj, “Some Nights I Dream of Doors” by Obongjayar, “Subaru Boys: Final Heaven” by Cruel Santino, “Heart of the Heavenly Undeniable” by Somadina, “Native World” by Native Sound System

Best Rap Album - “Fly Talk Only” by Payper Corleone, “Palmwine Music Vol 3” by Show Dem Camp, “Young Preacher” by Blaqbonez, “Ypszn3” by Psychoyp, “Teslim: The Energy Still Lives in Me” by Vector, “Billion Dollar Dream” by Jeriq

Next Rated - Young Jonn, Seyi Vibez, Asake, Victony, Spyro

African Artiste of the Year - Rema (Nigeria), Burna Boy (Nigeria), Marwa Loud (Morocco), Black Sherif (Ghana), Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Lyricist on the Roll - Ladipoe – “Clowns”, Vector – “Clowns”, Payper Corleone – “Fly Talk Only”, Alpha Ojini – “Vigilante Bop”, A-Q – “Family First”, Tec (Sdc) – “Live Life”

Best Inspirational Single - “Stand Strong” by Davido Ft Sunday Service Choir, “Jireh (My Provider)” by Limoblaze, Lecrae & Happi Music, “This Year” by Victor Thompson & Ehis ‘D’ Greatest, “Eze Ebube” by Neon Adejo, “Tobechukwu” by Nathaniel Bassey And Mercy Chinwo, “I Get Backing” by Victoria Orenze

Digital Artiste of the Year - Burna Boy, Ayra Starr, Rema, Omah Lay, Kizz Daniel, Asake

International Artiste Recognition - Sean “Love” Combs

­Hall of Fame - Youssou N’dour

Special Recognition - Sound Sultan

0 views0 comments


bottom of page